New Color Coming to the George Washington Bridge

George Washington Bridge - Fort Lee, NJ - Sep 25, 2011

George Washington Bridge - Fort Lee, NJ - Sep 25, 2011

If you’ve been following this blog (or have known me) for a while, then you know I’m a huge fan of the George Washington Bridge. (How many times will I rewrite that to lead into an entry?)

While I was taking photos for my entry about Friday night’s fog, what I didn’t notice was that some of lights on the bridge weren’t their normal color. I did, however, notice this Saturday night on my way home from an evening at the San Gennaro Festival in Little Italy.

I went back in the evening on Sunday, September 25, 2011 to investigate further. Four of the lights on the north cable leading up to the New Jersey tower were green and three on the south cable were “pink.” BTW, the cable lights on the bridge are actually called the “necklace lights.”

George Washington Bridge - Fort Lee, NJ - Sep 25, 2011

George Washington Bridge - Fort Lee, NJ - Sep 25, 2011

I write pink in quotes because last October, for the first time ever, the Port Authority put special colored lights on the GWB. For that entire month, it was “pink” for Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the pink was, let’s be honest, more of a purple.

The George Washington Bridge is seen from the Fort Lee Historic Park - Fort Lee, NJ - Oct 2, 2010

The George Washington Bridge is seen from the Fort Lee Historic Park - Fort Lee, NJ - Oct 2, 2010

George Washington Bridge - Fort Lee, NJ - Sep 25, 2011

George Washington Bridge - Fort Lee, NJ - Sep 25, 2011

Moving on, I called the Port Authority today and spokesman Steve Colman confirmed my suspicion that the bridge will once again be “pink” for Breast Cancer Awareness Month. What about the green? Those green lights were a test for what’s coming in November, when the bridge will be lit in green for the 100th anniversary of the Girl Scouts.

George Washington Bridge - Fort Lee, NJ - Sep 25, 2011

George Washington Bridge - Fort Lee, NJ - Sep 25, 2011

As I went into the city this evening (Monday, September 26, 2011) to see my friend Vanessa Hidary perform readings from her book The Last Kaiser Roll in the Bodega (buy your copy here), I could see even in daylight that the green lights had been replaced with “pink” ones. The necklace lights were entirely off tonight, as they were the week leading up to last October, which is actually how I found out about that special event before it happened. For the entire weekend of September 24 – 26, 2010, the necklace lights were off. I was curious, but seeing as the roadway lights seemed to still working, I was not concerned. So, I waited until that Monday to call the Port Authority who told me what was happening, but that I couldn’t tell the public until that Friday, the day the “pink” lights would be activated.

George Washington Bridge - New York, NY - Sep 26, 2011 (photo via iPhone 4)

George Washington Bridge - New York, NY - Sep 26, 2011 (photo via iPhone 4)

And that’s that. Be well.

– Evan Bindelglass

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Color Coming to the George Washington Bridge

  1. Pingback: George Washington Bridge Getting New Color « CBS New York

  2. Pingback: Lights On George Washington Bridge Getting New Color | Update Trend News

  3. Pingback: Fresh Shots: George Washington Bridge Goes Pink 2011 | The World According to Evan

Leave a Reply

