Review: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine – “Melora”

melora_040A cartographer from a low-gravity planet joins the crew.

My watching of DS9 took a break because I got stuck on this episode. I didn’t really want to write the review. The episode falls kind of flat for me. So, just a few notes.

Why would Starfleet assign someone with a such special needs to an architecturally challenging outpost in deep space? Perhaps because she was so hostile to everyone. However, I do like the way the episode points out the strangeness of Cardassian interior design.

I get Melora’s not wanting to lose her self and, therefore, discontinue Dr. Bashir’s treatments, but then she’s done on the station. It’s not directly stated that she’s leaving, but it’s pretty obvious (and she never returns to the series). If Starfleet expected her to work on Deep Space Nine without medical treatment, why is she leaving? I mean there are plenty of reasons I could come up with. One is a reaction to having nearly been killed and the other is that she actually just wants to go home. However, it’s not fleshed out enough.

As for the subplot with Quark, it was really lame. In fact, it was cartoonish. I really like Quark as a character, but this just didn’t work. It was probably just contrived to put Melora in jeopardy, but I still didn’t care for it. Also, it seemed like Quark activated his combadge, yet nothing seemed to happen until there was phaser fire. Deleted scene of Odo trying to track them down earlier?

Anyway, that’s all.

– Evan Bindelglass

This entry was posted in Television and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine – “Melora”

  1. Welcome back! I hated this episode – I thought it was the worst episode in the entire series. The only good thing about it is that the writers considered that some beings may have to adapt to other environments in the future. Otherwise, I found this episode to be annoying and useless.

Leave a Reply

