Unsatisfied By BBC America’s Response About Star Trek: The Next Generation

bbcamerica_20140619_640_1BBBC America brings us some great stuff from across the pond, including “Doctor Who” and “Top Gear.” It also brings us some older and not so much older favorites from right here in North America.
Among those are the re-imagined version of “Battlestar Galactica” and “Star Trek: The Next Generation.” I’ve seen both series in their entirety and seen all of TNG several times.

I had noticed that BBC America was only airing seasons three through seven of Next Gen and even commented on that to a fellow Trekker (or Trekkie if you prefer – I like Trekker). She also couldn’t say for sure that she’d ever seen any episodes from seasons one or two on BBC America. Well, that changed for me last week. I got home from dinner and turned on the TV to find the season one episode “Where No One Has Gone Before” on BBC America. Not only that, it was the remastered HD version, which was released on Blu-ray in July of 2012.

I mentioned this to my Trekker friend, who has since moved to Canada, and she thought it was very cool and suggested I ask BBC America why, until now, they hadn’t aired S1 or S2. So, I did. I was not satisfied with the answer I received.

Dear Evan,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us.  Unfortunately we are unable to provide you with the information you are requesting.

We thank you again for your inquiry.

Regards,
Robert
Viewer Relations
BBC America

I mean, SOMEONE must know why. Right?

– Evan Bindelglass
Follow me on Twitter @evabin.

This entry was posted in Television, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

