Food Truck Food: Jan 23-26, 2012 – Schnitzel & Things, Taim Mobile, Big D’s Grub Truck, and Rickshaw Dumpling

Lunch - Jan 23-26, 2012

Lunch - Jan 23-26, 2012

I wish I had some witty lead here, but I don’t. So, here comes my week of lunches eaten at work.

On Monday, January 23, I returned to Schnitzel & Things (@schnitznthings) and got the bratwurst platter (with cucumber salad and French fries as my sides). It was $7.

Bratwurst Platter from Schnitzel & Things - New York, NY - Jan 23, 2012

Bratwurst Platter from Schnitzel & Things - New York, NY - Jan 23, 2012

I don’t actually usually care much for German/Austrian type sausages. But this was good.

Bratwurst Platter from Schnitzel & Things - New York, NY - Jan 23, 2012

Bratwurst Platter from Schnitzel & Things - New York, NY - Jan 23, 2012

I recommend mixing ketchup and mustard together and dipping bites in that.

Bratwurst Platter from Schnitzel & Things - New York, NY - Jan 23, 2012

Bratwurst Platter from Schnitzel & Things - New York, NY - Jan 23, 2012

On Tuesday, January 24, I got another amazing falafel sandwich from Taim Mobile (@TaimMobile). Seriously, they make the best falafel! The falafel sandwich is well-filled, though hard to photograph, and only $5.75.

Falafel Sandwich from Taim Mobile - New York, NY - Jan 24, 2012

Falafel Sandwich from Taim Mobile - New York, NY - Jan 24, 2012

On Wednesday, January 25, I went to Big D’s Grub Truck again (@bigdsgrub). I got three tacos (one each of beef, ginger chicken, and pork). It’s three tacos for $7.

Tacos from Big D's Grub Truck - New York, NY - Jan 25, 2012

Tacos from Big D's Grub Truck - New York, NY - Jan 25, 2012

It’s really nice that it comes with a wedge of lime for each one. Use the lime! I squeezed a lot of it on to each one and then bit into the lime and sucked out the rest of the juice.

Tacos from Big D's Grub Truck - New York, NY - Jan 25, 2012

Tacos from Big D's Grub Truck - New York, NY - Jan 25, 2012

Each one has two tortillas on the outside. While that makes it stable, it adds too much tortilla, in my opinion. Still, I enjoyed my lunch.

Tacos from Big D's Grub Truck - New York, NY - Jan 25, 2012

Tacos from Big D's Grub Truck - New York, NY - Jan 25, 2012

On Thursday, January 26, I made only my second visit to Rickshaw Dumpling (@RickshawTruck). On my first visit, I found the pork dumplings to be mildly ordinary, but really wanted to try the chicken + Thai basil dumplings.

Dumplings and Sesame Noodles from Rickshaw Dumpling - New York, NY - Jan 26, 2012

Dumplings and Sesame Noodles from Rickshaw Dumpling - New York, NY - Jan 26, 2012

So I did. I got them with a side of the chili sesame noodle salad for a total of $9.

Dumplings and Sesame Noodles from Rickshaw Dumpling - New York, NY - Jan 26, 2012

Dumplings and Sesame Noodles from Rickshaw Dumpling - New York, NY - Jan 26, 2012

The chicken dumplings are much better and the spicy peanut sate dip is great! You feel like you’re getting more for your money with these dumplings than the pork ones.

Chicken + Thai Basil Dumplings from Rickshaw Dumpling - New York, NY - Jan 26, 2012

Chicken + Thai Basil Dumplings from Rickshaw Dumpling - New York, NY - Jan 26, 2012

As for the sesame noodle salad, it was light and tasty.

Chili Sesame Noodle Salad from Rickshaw Dumpling - New York, NY - Jan 26, 2012

Chili Sesame Noodle Salad from Rickshaw Dumpling - New York, NY - Jan 26, 2012

Bon Apetit!

- Evan Bindelglass
(Photos taken with iPhone 4)

To read my other food truck reviews, click HERE.

This entry was posted in Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Truck Food: Jan 23-26, 2012 – Schnitzel & Things, Taim Mobile, Big D’s Grub Truck, and Rickshaw Dumpling

  1. That looks so good! I love to eat at food trucks, the quality is just as good as any ‘store front’ and the food is always a good deal!

Leave a Reply

