Food Truck Food: Dec 27-30, 2011 – Korilla BBQ, The Frying Dutchmen, and Eddie’s Pizza Truck

Lunch - Dec 27-30, 2011

Lunch - Dec 27-30, 2011

For lunch this week, I returned to two trucks, tried a cart, and tried a new truck.

I actually worked six days this week, starting on Christmas day – Sunday, December 25, 2011.

I didn’t actually have lunch that day, having noshed and nibbled on the sweets to be found in the newsroom.

Then I had a Lean Cuisine on Monday to make up for it.

On Tuesday, December 27, I returned to the Korilla BBQ truck (Twitter: @KorillaBBQ). I had had their beef burrito and enjoyed it. But I wanted to try something else. I got a chicken rice bowl with all the kimchis and two sauces.

Chicken rice bowl from Korilla BBQ - New York, NY - Dec 27, 2011

Chicken rice bowl from Korilla BBQ - New York, NY - Dec 27, 2011

I think it was very well prepared, but it was a bit too much kimchi for me. Still, I maintain my recommendation that you check out this truck.

Chicken rice bowl from Korilla BBQ - New York, NY - Dec 27, 2011

Chicken rice bowl from Korilla BBQ - New York, NY - Dec 27, 2011

On Tuesday, I was outside when I purchased my lunch, but I did not get it from a truck parked on the street. Instead, for the first time, I got it from the Halal cart parked on the sidewalk. I had a lamb gyro. It hit the spot and at $4, the value is certainly there. Also, the guy (at the northwest corner of Hudson Street and King Street) was very friendly.

Lamb gyro from Halal food cart - New York, NY - Dec 28, 2011

Lamb gyro from Halal food cart - New York, NY - Dec 28, 2011

On Thursday, December 29, 2011, I tried something new – the Frying Dutchmen. They do burgers and chicken sandwiches, but their notoriety seems to come from their fries. Follow them at @Frying_Dutchmen.

The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

Menu at The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

Menu at The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

Menu at The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

Menu at The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

Menu at The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

Menu at The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

I got the combo, which combines a sandwich with a medium fries, a drink, and a dipping sauce for $11.

Chicken sandwich and Belgian fries from The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

Chicken sandwich and Belgian fries from The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

My sandwich was the Classic Chicken Sandwich (fried), described on the menu as all white meat, boneless chicken breast, grilled or fried, served with lettuce, tomato, grilled onions, and pickles on a torpedo roll. It was delicious.

Chicken sandwich from The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

Chicken sandwich from The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

For my fries, I got the Traditional Belgian Style, described on the menu as “extra crispy, made from Idaho #2 potatoes topped with a little salt.” They were really great fries! I got the Baja Blast dipping sauce, described as a “mixture of sweet chili’s in an Aioli sauce.” It was a fun dipping sauce.

Belgian fries from The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

Belgian fries from The Frying Dutchmen truck - New York, NY- Dec 29, 2011

To be honest, I think the Frying Dutchmen will be an occasional indulgence, but you should absolutely give it a try!

I had been to Eddie’s Pizza Truck (Twitter: @EddiesPizzaNY) and enjoyed their pizza the other week.

Menu at Eddie's Pizza Truck - New York, NY - Dec 30, 2011

Menu at Eddie's Pizza Truck - New York, NY - Dec 30, 2011

Today, I returned to try something different.

I got the Salume sandwich, which was mixed cured hard salamis, arugula, parmigiano regiano, and olive oil.

Salume sandwich from Eddie's Pizza Truck - New York, NY - Dec 30, 2011

Salume sandwich from Eddie's Pizza Truck - New York, NY - Dec 30, 2011

It was quite nice. Not too heavy. Not too light. Delightful.

Salume sandwich from Eddie's Pizza Truck - New York, NY - Dec 30, 2011

Salume sandwich from Eddie's Pizza Truck - New York, NY - Dec 30, 2011

Salume sandwich from Eddie's Pizza Truck - New York, NY - Dec 30, 2011

Salume sandwich from Eddie's Pizza Truck - New York, NY - Dec 30, 2011

Bon Apetit!

– Evan Bindelglass
(Photos taken with iPhone 4)

This entry was posted in Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

