Groupon Time at Kinara in Edgewater

Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

I’m back! I have neglected this blog for the entirety of summer and a decent chunk of Spring. Tsk Tsk Tsk.

In my defense, I have been busy. I went to London, Paris, and Denver, ran two more races (a 4M and a 10k, both in Central Park), went to Tanglewood for Film Night with John Williams, thrown some dinner parties, and more. I’ll also admit to having gotten totally hooked on (really addicted to, if I’m honest) Top Gear (the U.K. version)! At any rate, I’m back and hope to be getting into more detail on those activities in the weeks to come, which means, unlike the way I usually do this blog, some of the entries to come won’t be posted in the order in which they happened.

Now, back to our not so regularly scheduled program. After all, you probably clicked on this because you wanted to read about and see pictures of some Indian food.

Some time ago, my friend Polina and I tried Kinara and we liked it. When I saw it come up on Groupon, I was happy. I invited my parents to come out and, on Thursday, September 22, 2011, we went there and enjoyed a feast of Indian food!

We started out with an order of the Papri Chat, which was both refreshing and a little rich (but good rich). I really liked it.

Papri Chat at Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Papri Chat at Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

We followed that up with Sag Paneer, Chicken Tikka Masala, Lamb Vindaloo, Chicken Manchurian (from the Indian-Chinese section of the menu), and an order of Garlic Naan. The Sag Paneer was good (though I’m not the biggest paneer fan). The Chicken Tikka Masala was full of flavor and not overly spicy. The Lamb Vindaloo was very spicy and exactly what I wanted! By the way, my mom had the idea of mixing the vindaloo and masala sauces a little – a nice combo. The Chicken Manchurian was yummy and something a bit different. The Garlic Naan was very just right, and the rice was well seasoned as well.

Rice, Chicken Manchurian, Sag Paneer, and Lamb Vindaloo at Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Rice, Chicken Manchurian, Sag Paneer, and Lamb Vindaloo at Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Garlic Naan and Sag Paneer at Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Garlic Naan and Sag Paneer at Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Chicken Tikka Masala at Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Chicken Tikka Masala at Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Lamb Vindaloo at KInara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Lamb Vindaloo at KInara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Chicken Manchurian at Kinara - Egdewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Chicken Manchurian at Kinara - Egdewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Garlic Naan at Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Garlic Naan at Kinara - Edgewater, NJ - Sep 22, 2011

Everything was yummy and I fully expect to make a return visit, and highly recommend you check it out (even if you’ve never had Indian food before)!

Kinara
880 River Road
Edgewater, NJ 07020
201-313-0555
www.kinararestaurant.com
– Evan Bindelglass
(Photos taken with iPhone 4)

This entry was posted in Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

