Video: Lightning Over Boynton Beach, Florida

Lightning - Boynton Beach, FL - May 15, 2011

Lightning - Boynton Beach, FL - May 15, 2011

So, I just returned from a five-day vacation to see my Grandma in Florida.

My Grandpa (these are my paternal grandparents) died at the end of 2010. I wrote about that HERE. This was the first time I saw Grandma since his memorial service.

My parents and I booked our travel separately, so I flew down to West Palm Beach on a flight from LaGuardia on Delta and then they flew down about an hour or so later on a flight from JFK on JetBlue. When I got the to airport, I walked slowly, stood in the store reading a few chapters of Tina Fey’s book Bossypants (I bought it when my parents and I got to the airport for our flights home), and then sat in the big area outside security with the big comfy chairs in front of the big windows about halfway between the two concourses (if you’ve been there, you probably know what I mean). I plugged in my iPod and closed my eyes. It just so happens that when I opened them, there was my parents’ plane taxiing by.

Anyway, we spent several days in the sun, saw some relatives, and had a great time. The weather was great most of the time (80s and sunny). Speaking of the weather, I went running two of the mornings. It is a lot harder to run when it is a muggy 70-some-odd degrees out than when it’s a not muggy 60 degrees.

There was some pouring rain and thunderstorm activity on Saturday, May 14, 2011 and it was a rainy morning on Sunday, May 15, 2011, but it was sunny by midday. Though, that evening, my parents, Grandma, and I came out of dinner to see some really cool cloud lightning in the sky. There was no rain, but it looked really cool. My parents and I stood outside for a while watching it. Here are the videos. Enjoy.

– Evan Bindelglass
(Video shot with iPhone 4)

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

