An Unexpected Dinner at Madison Square Eats and “Thor”

Madison Square Market - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Madison Square Eats – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

On Tuesday, May 10, 2011, I had plans to see see Thor with my friend Brian, but I didn’t have any dinner plans.

When my regular work day was over, I watched some of the previous night’s Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson on YouTube and then made my leisurely way downtown to check out Eataly. The weather was wonderful. So, given that I had the time, I, of course, walked.

On my way, I shot these two photos of the Empire State Building.

Empire State Building - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Empire State Building – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

Empire State Building - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Empire State Building – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

Well, as I got close to Eataly, I stumbled upon Madison Square Eats. It’s located directly west of Madison Square Park.

Madison Square Market - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Madison Square Eats – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

It is full of these stalls with interesting eats.

Madison Square Market - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Madison Square Eats – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

Madison Square Market - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Madison Square Eats – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

As I said, the weather was wonderful. So, I decided I would try some of this stuff out and eat outside. I can check out Eataly another time.

I went to Asiadog and got two of their Asian inspired hot dogs. I went to the next stall and got a wheat beer.

Asiadog at Madison Square Market - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Asiadog at Madison Square Eats – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

Asiadog Menu at Madison Square Market - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Asiadog Menu at Madison Square Eats – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

Dinner at Madison Square Market - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Dinner at Madison Square Eats – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

The one on top is the Wangting (Chinese BBQ pork belly, cucumbers, scallions) and the one on the bottom is the Mel&Steve (sesame, Asian slaw, scallions, sesame seeds). The hot dogs and the beer were yummy.

Dinner at Madison Square Market - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Dinner at Madison Square Eats – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

After I finished dinner, I went over to Spices and Tease, where I picked up three loose teas. They were as follows with descriptions exactly as they worded them: Green Tea Citrus Tangerine (“Excellent Green Tea Sencha, Tangerine, Lime, Passion Fruits, and Orange – Delicious…”), Black Tea Rooibos Vanilla-Lemon Cinammon (“Equal Part of Oolong Black tea, and Rooibos with Vanilla, Cinnamon, and Sunflowers”), and White Tea Pomegranate (“White Tea, Pomegranate, Elderberry, peach, Cranberry, and rose – Delightful…”)

Spices and Tease at Madison Square Market - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Spices and Tease at Madison Square Eats – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

Spices and Tease at Madison Square Market - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

Spices and Tease at Madison Square Eats – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

While I was across from Madison Square Park, I also shot these two photos.

New York, NY - May 10, 2011

New York, NY – May 10, 2011

New York, NY - May 10, 2011

New York, NY – May 10, 2011

LAfter my delightful and unexpected experience at Madison Square Eats, I head back up to the AMC West 32nd Street to meet Brian. On my way, I shot this photo of West 34th Street as seen from the eastern entrance to Penn Station.

West 32nd Street - New York, NY - May 10, 2011

West 32nd Street – New York, NY – May 10, 2011

Brian and I both really liked Thor. It was exciting and the humor was delightful. Kenneth Branagh and the cast – including Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Anthony Hopkins, Clark Gregg, and Stellan Skarsgard – did a great job. Stay to the end of the credits. There’s a little something extra.

I love being able to have a life now.

– Evan Bindelglass
(Photos taken with iPhone 4)

This entry was posted in Food, Movies, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

