I Ran My First Race – The Lincoln Tunnel Challenge 5k!

Me running in the Lincoln Tunnel Challenge - Weehawken, NJ - Apr 17, 2011 - Photo: NJ Torch Run

Me running in the Lincoln Tunnel Challenge - Weehawken, NJ - Apr 17, 2011 - Photo: NJ Torch Run

If you’re a friend of mine on Facebook, you probably know that I’ve been working out since Thanksgiving.

Well, that weekend, I started running. To be more accurate, it was walking with a bit of jogging. That then became a jog-walk and eventually a jog-run, and sometimes a run-jog!

I was never a runner, so I was quite astonished by both how quickly my performance and stamina improved and by how much I actually enjoy it!

I run 2 miles every Tuesday and Thursday, plus sometimes I run on Saturdays and/or Sundays. Now that I have normal hours, I get to do my run when I wake up. It’s a great way to start the day!

So, I decided to sign up for the Lincoln Tunnel Challenge. It’s a 5k race. You start at the mouth of the south tube of the Lincoln Tunnel in Weehawken, New Jersey and run through the tunnel into Manhattan, make a quick 180 and run back.

Entrance to the Lincoln Tunnel prior to the Lincoln Tunnel Challenge - Weehawken, NJ - Apr 17, 2011

Entrance to the Lincoln Tunnel prior to the Lincoln Tunnel Challenge - Weehawken, NJ - Apr 17, 2011

The 25th anniversary run was on Sunday, April 17, 2011 and I ran with several of my current and former co-workers as part of Team Awesome. Having never run a race before, I was a tad nervous, but once I got going, I just got going.

Me running in the Lincoln Tunnel Challenge - Weehawken, NJ - Apr 17, 2011 - Photo: NJ Torch Run

Me running in the Lincoln Tunnel Challenge - Weehawken, NJ - Apr 17, 2011 - Photo: NJ Torch Run

That’s me on the left. Despite the look of anguish you see on my face as I approach the finish line, I really enjoyed the experience and I finished in 28:35.91! I hope to run it again next year and find more 5k races to run in between. If you, reader, know of any, feel free to leave them in the comments section at the bottom. I might even work my way up to a 10k.

Me aftet the Lincoln Tunnel Challenge - Weekawken, NJ - Apr 17, 2011 - Photo: Dave Carter

Me aftet the Lincoln Tunnel Challenge - Weekawken, NJ - Apr 17, 2011 - Photo: Dave Carter

After the race, we went over to the Malibu Diner in Hoboken for brunch, where there were several other groups that had come from the race. It was a great day!

– Evan Bindelglass

This entry was posted in Food, Photography, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

