Shrimp Fra Diavolo at My Parents’

Shrimp Fra Diavolo - Feb 20, 2011

Shrimp Fra Diavolo - Feb 20, 2011

So, I actually have President’s Day off, so I had a relaxing dinner at my parents’ on Sunday, February 20, 2011.

Usually when I go to my parents’ for dinner on Sunday, I have to watch the clock given how early I have to get up for work during the week, but not this time. 🙂

So, when I got there, my dad heated up some of the skirt steak he made the other day (with some yummy mushroom and onion my mom made on top). All quite yummy.

Skirt Steak - Feb 20, 2011

Skirt Steak - Feb 20, 2011

Then we had some rose champagne while my mom was still cooking the main course.

Rose Champagne - Feb 20, 2011

Rose Champagne - Feb 20, 2011

After that, we had some salmon caviar on crackers with sour cream. Particularly good caviar with wonderful pop in your mouth!

Caviar - Feb 20, 2011

Caviar - Feb 20, 2011

Then we had my dad’s grilled eggplant creation, which I have featured on the blog before (though prepared by me on that occasion).  You slice up an eggplant and grill one side of the slices. Then while the other side is grilling, you put some Trader Joe’s goat cheese with honey in it on the already grilled side and fold it over. It’s a very sweet (but not overly so) and savory appetizer.

Grilled Eggplant - Feb 20, 2011

Grilled Eggplant - Feb 20, 2011

Then my mom had the idea of putting the caviar on the grilled eggplant. It was a delightful combination.

Grilled Eggplant with Caviar - Feb 20, 2011

Grilled Eggplant with Caviar - Feb 20, 2011

After that, my dad made a dinner cocktail with Lillet, St. Germain, and freshly squeezed orange juice topped off with a little tonic water. It was quite refreshing.

Dinner Cocktail - Feb 20, 2011

Dinner Cocktail - Feb 20, 2011

Then we had salad. My dad always does such a great job presenting salads, be they simple or elaborate.

Salad - Feb 20, 2011

Salad - Feb 20, 2011

Then came the main course, my mom’s Shrimp Fra Diavolo. It was delicious. The shrimp was tender and the sauce was just the right level of spiciness. It was enough to slow you down a little, but also enough to make you want to win the clean plate contest! My mom sure knows what she is doing!

Shrimp Fra Diavolo - Feb 20, 2011

Shrimp Fra Diavolo - Feb 20, 2011

Shrimp Fra Diavolo - Feb 20, 2011

Shrimp Fra Diavolo - Feb 20, 2011

Shrimp Fra Diavolo - Feb 20, 2011

Shrimp Fra Diavolo - Feb 20, 2011

While we ate dinner, we watched “60 Minutes.” A very interesting edition of that Sunday tradition. I’ve included links to the full video of each piece.

The first piece was Lesley Stahl with Sen. Scott Brown of Massachusetts.
http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=7357186n

The second piece was Bob Simon on the forgotten and amazing story of how the revolution began in Tunisia.
http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=7357188n&tag=related;photovideo

The third piece was Scott Pelley on Colin Firth and the story behind “The King’s Speech” (which I saw on Saturday). It was excellent.
http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=7357190n

After that, we watched “RED,” which I had out from Netflix. If you don’t remember it, it stars Bruce Willis, Mary-Louise Parker, John Malkovich, Helen Mirren, Karl Urban, Morgan Freeman, and Brian Cox. It was quirky and entertaining.

It was a wonderful evening with my parents, who I am so grateful for!

– Evan Bindelglass

This entry was posted in Food, Movies, Photography, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shrimp Fra Diavolo at My Parents’

  1. Pingback: Some Fusion on President’s Day | The World According to Evan

Leave a Reply

