Several Steps to a Simple Saturday Supper, Plus Jack, Liz, and The Doctor

Dinner is Served - Feb 12, 2011

Dinner is Served - Feb 12, 2011

So, here’s what I did on Saturday, February 12, 2011.

But first, what I did on Friday. After work on Friday, I did my workout, got a haircut in Paramus, and went to the Friday evening Wine Tasting at Total Wine in River Edge. I came home, wrote the blog entry about Thursday night’s little adventure in Hoboken, activated my brand spanking new Verizon iPhone, ate dinner, watched Jeopardy!, finished Thursday night’s episode of the Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson, and watched The Bourne Ultimatum. I really like the Bourne movies, and just saw all three for the first time. The copy Netflix sent me had a scratch on it. I was able to watch it in my bedroom though. It’s funny how my about 10-year-old DVD player can deal with scratches better than my 2.5-year-old Blu-ray plaer. After that, I watched Wednesday’s episode of Hot in Cleveland (it’s worth it for Betty White).

Now, on to Saturday. I got out of bed around 7am and had breakfast while watching the first half hour of Today. Then I watched Friday night’s Craig Ferguson and Wednesday’s Law & Order: Special Victims Unit, made my bed, and went for a jog. After that, I showered, and listened to Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me (which was a best of athlete guests – Monica Seles will not grunt on command). Then I ate some lunch (a can of soup) and watched Thursday’s episode of The Office (among the better episodes of the season thus far), Thursday’s episode of The Big Bang Theory, and Monday’s episode of Harry’s Law (you really should check this show out – yes, it’s a bit on the sappy side, but get past it). After that, I popped out to ShopRite to get some fixings for dinner. When I got home, I think I got lost on the internet for a while. Then I watched Thursday’s episode of 30 Rock. If you’re not watching it, you’re missing out – Jack Donaghy and Liz Lemon are the best couple on TV (even though they’re not really a couple)!

Finally, we get to dinner and the meat (if you will) of this entry. The first step is opening a bottle of wine, in this case, a 2007 Daglia Canyon Cabernet Sauvignon from Napa Valley.

Wine - Feb 12, 2011

Wine - Feb 12, 2011

It was recommended to me on Friday at Total Wine and I like it. As I’m writing this entry, it’s nearly 5. Almost time to open her up again.

After that, I prepared the my salad. As I said in the title of this entry, this a simple Saturday supper. So, I used a bag of ReadyPac Parisian salad to start.

Bag of Salad - Feb 12, 2011

Bag of Salad - Feb 12, 2011

Then I sliced a cucumber. I buy the Kirby cucumbers. They’re not waxed and they’re crunchier.

Cucumber - Feb 12, 2011

Cucumber - Feb 12, 2011

Then I sliced a yellow pepper. The selection of red peppers has been pretty bad lately (just another reason I’m looking forward to spring).

Yellow Pepper - Feb 12, 2011

Yellow Pepper - Feb 12, 2011

As I went along, I put all three in a big serving bowl.

Bowl of Salad - Feb 12, 2011

Bowl of Salad - Feb 12, 2011

Then I sliced up a tomato, which I keep separate for freshness.

Tomato - Feb 12, 2011

Tomato - Feb 12, 2011

Sliced Tomato - Feb 12, 2011

Sliced Tomato - Feb 12, 2011

Next, I prepared my main course.

You start out with the chicken.

Perdue Chicken - Feb 12, 2011

Perdue Chicken - Feb 12, 2011

I cleaned and trimmed it, and tenderized both sides, and seasoned both sides with Joe’s Stuff. Joe’s Stuff comes from New Orleans and is not to be confused with Trader Joe’s (which I also love).

Meat Tenderizer - Feb 12, 2011

Meat Tenderizer - Feb 12, 2011

Tenderizing the Meat - Feb 12, 2011

Tenderizing the Meat - Feb 12, 2011

Joe's Stuff - Feb 12, 2011

Joe's Stuff - Feb 12, 2011

Tenderized and Seasoned Chicken - Feb 12, 2011

Tenderized and Seasoned Chicken - Feb 12, 2011

After that, I got the french fries ready (in this case McCain Seasoned Crinkle Cut).

McCain Frozen French Fries - Feb 12, 2011

McCain Frozen French Fries - Feb 12, 2011

McCain Frozen French Fries - Feb 12, 2011

McCain Frozen French Fries - Feb 12, 2011

I put them in the oven and, once I had my chicken cooking (in a grill pan, each side 5-8 minutes) and green beans cooking (in this case Trader Joe’s Haricot Vert sauteed in a pan sprayed with olive oil), I ate my salad.

Chicken Cooking - Feb 12, 2011

Chicken Cooking - Feb 12, 2011

Trader Joe's Haricot Vert - Feb 12, 2011

Trader Joe's Haricot Vert - Feb 12, 2011

Green Beans Cooking - Feb 12, 2011

Green Beans Cooking - Feb 12, 2011

Salad - Feb 12, 2011

Salad - Feb 12, 2011

Salad - Feb 12, 2011

Salad - Feb 12, 2011

I realized after finishing my salad that I had forgotten to put any yellow pepper in it. So, I just ate some by itself.

Chicken Cooked - Feb 12, 2011

Chicken Cooked - Feb 12, 2011

With the chicken, french fries, and green beans finished, I served myself my main course. I had watched the local and network news from 6pm to 7pm and, at 7pm, switched to TBS for Seinfeld reruns. They had one of my favorite episodes – the one where Jerry and Elaine are trying to get home and Jerry’s in first class with the model and Elaine is stuck in coach. It was followed by what I believe was actually he very next episode – the one with Elaine’s nipple on the Christmas card and Jerry getting caught in what the model thought was a manual cleaning of a certain body part located on the face.

Dinner is Served - Feb 12, 2011

Dinner is Served - Feb 12, 2011

Dinner - Feb 12, 2011

Dinner - Feb 12, 2011

Chicken (Close-Up) - Feb 12, 2011

Chicken (Close-Up) - Feb 12, 2011

French Fries (Close-Up) - Feb 12, 2011

French Fries (Close-Up) - Feb 12, 2011

Green Beans (Close-Up) - Feb 12, 2011

Green Beans (Close-Up) - Feb 12, 2011

I was quite satisfied by my culinary creation. Simple and delicious. Plus, I have the second piece of chicken to eat tonight.

Dinner Finished - Feb 12, 2011

Dinner Finished - Feb 12, 2011

After dinner, I washed the dishes that needed washing by hand, listened to some music (mainly selections from TRON: Legacy and the recent recording by the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra of Basil Poledouris’ epic score for Conan the Barbarian), watched Thursday’s episode of Outsourced (which featured an excellent scene where Todd pushes the workers in an anger management exercise), and watched some of disc 2 of series 2 of Doctor Who. I am really happy I got into Doctor Who.

All in all, quite a nice Saturday to myself.

– Evan Bindelglass

This entry was posted in Food, Movies, Photography, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

