A Scrumptious Sunday Dinner at Elysian Cafe in Hoboken

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

On Sunday, January 23, 2011, my wonderful parents came over to help me fix a light in my apartment. I knew they were coming, but I still took a nap in the afternoon and when they arrived, they woke me up (which was totally fine). The funny thing, though, was that when I answered the door, my mom asked if the had woken me up and I honestly thought they hadn’t.

Anyway, when we were done with things at my apartment, we drove down to Hoboken for dinner at Elysian Cafe, which is located at 1001 Washington Street in Hoboken. My parents had been there before, but it was my first time there.

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Mom and Dad at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Mom and Dad at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

We started off with the Crispy Calamari Salad.

Crisp Calamari Salad at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Crisp Calamari Salad at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Rolls at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Rolls at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Mom got the Elysian Seafood Stew (Jumbo Shrimp, Mussels, Clams, Calamari, Fillet, in a Tomato Saffron Broth with Toasted Foccacia with Aioli).

Elysian Seafood Stew at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Elysian Seafood Stew at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

I had the Cassoulet (A Stew of Duck Confit, Garlic Sausage, Pork, White Beans).

Cassoulet at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Cassoulet at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Dad had the Grilled Lamb Chops (Olive Mashed Potatoes, Haricot Vert, Red Wine Glaze).

Grilled Lamb Chops at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Grilled Lamb Chops at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

We had a side of Pommes Frites.

Pommes Frites at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Pommes Frites at Elysian Cafe - Hoboken, NJ - Jan 23, 2011

Everything was scrumptious! I’ll have to got back and take less blurry photos!

A funny story, we were seated against a wall on the other side of the bar and could not see the TV (the Jets were playing the Steelers in the AFC championship game). Every so often, I would hear a few people cheer and I would get up and check the score, but nothing good seemed to have happened to the Jets. So, I was perplexed by the cheering. When we got up to leave the restaurant, I realized there was a table full of Steelers fans in the bar.

On a side note, as I write this on Tuesday, January 25, 2011, I am proud to say I have now been exercising regularly for two months!

– Evan Bindelglass

This entry was posted in Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Scrumptious Sunday Dinner at Elysian Cafe in Hoboken

  1. Inna says:

    Elysian cafe serves the best lunch in Hoboken. Go on a nice day when you can sit outside… Do I miss Hoboken!

Leave a Reply

