Sushi, Blogging, SVU, and… the Concorde? Plus “The Great One”!

Sushi - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi - Jan 14, 2011

Sometimes a quiet night in is just what the doctor ordered.

Well,  on Friday, January 14, 2011, I was happy to take my medicine.

Of course, there was a notable event that happened well before the evening. Wayne Gretzky, the retired professional hockey player known as “The Great One,” stopped by WCBS Newsradio 880, where I work. He was there to record a spot for Bigelow Tea. He was kind enough to sign items and pose for photographs with many of us. He seemed like a nice guy. Thanks to my colleague Chris Rauch for taking this photo.

Wayne Gretzky and me in the WCBS 880 newsroom - New York, NY - Jan 14, 2011

Wayne Gretzky and me in the WCBS 880 newsroom - New York, NY - Jan 14, 2011

After work, which I left a little later than normal, I went home, did my workout, showered, and dropped of a couple of things at my dad’s office. Then I went to the Friday evening tasting at Total Wine in River Edge. I picked up a Shiraz, a Malbec, and a bottle of limoncello (don’t want to run out of that stuff!). I picked up some sushi at Sushi House.

Sushi House Menu - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi House Menu - Jan 14, 2011

When I got home, I took some of the photos I needed to complete a blog entry. After that, I started heating up my sake and had a little salad.

Salad - Jan 14, 2011

Salad - Jan 14, 2011

Then I had my sushi while watching “Jeopardy!” I ordered seaweed salad, tuna roll, rainbow roll (well, actually I ordered dragon roll, but got rainbow roll), a piece of shrimp, and a piece of salmon. I accompanied it with sake, along with both regular ponzu and lime ponzu.

Sushi and "Jeopardy!" - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi and "Jeopardy!" - Jan 14, 2011

Sake - Jan 14, 2011

Sake - Jan 14, 2011

Ponzu - Jan 14, 2011

Ponzu - Jan 14, 2011

Seaweed Salad - Jan 14, 2011

Seaweed Salad - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi - Jan 14, 2011

Sushi - Jan 14, 2011

After my sushi dinner, I did some blogging while simultaneously watching the rest of Thursday night’s Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson” on YouTube. If you’re interested in reading the entry I was creating, click HERE.

Blogging - Jan 14, 2011

Blogging - Jan 14, 2011

Blogging - Jan 14, 2011

Blogging - Jan 14, 2011

When I was done blogging, I watched Wednesday night’s episode of “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” on my DVR. Jeremy Irons was the big guest star. He was very good.

"Law & Order: Special Victims Unit" on DVR - Jan 14, 2011

"Law & Order: Special Victims Unit" on DVR - Jan 14, 2011

After that, I completed the “Airport” series of movies by watching “The Concorde… Airport ’79.” At least when 1970s disaster movies were bad, they were laughingly so. Was Robert Wagner just handsome, or did people actually consider him a genuinely good actor? Perhaps this movie is just so bad, there is no way for him to seem like a good actor in it.

"The Concorde... Airport '79" Menu Screen - Jan 14, 2011

"The Concorde... Airport '79" Menu Screen - Jan 14, 2011

If you’re interested, here is the trailer for the movie.

After watching the movie, I did some IMing and watched the beginning of the “Late Show with David Letterman.” Dave kept going on about this Swedish guy in the audience that wasn’t laughing. It was actually really funny. It then became a debate over which countries are in Scandinavia. A world atlas was even brought into play.

– Evan Bindelglass

This entry was posted in Food, Movies, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

