First Time Making Eggplant Parmesan

My eggplant parmesan dinner - Jan 3, 2011

My eggplant parmesan dinner - Jan 3, 2011

On Monday, January 3, 2011, I had arrived home from LaGuardia airport at about 1 a.m. after a weekend that included 4 airports in 3 states in 2 days. I was at work at about 7 a.m. On my way home, I went to ShopRite and bought supplies to cook dinner.

When I got home, I did my workout and showered. Later on, I did, indeed cook – eggplant parmesan, for the first time. Oh, I’d eaten eggplant parmesan (and enjoyed it very much), but never actually cooked it. Anyway, I did and it was very yummy. I love that feeling you get when you first taste a culinary creation.

I preceded the eggplant parmesan with salad.

My salad - Jan 3, 2011

My salad - Jan 3, 2011

I read on the internet about a way of baking on the bread crumbs instead of frying them on.

Eggplant after the breading is baked on - Jan 3, 2011

Eggplant after the breading is baked on - Jan 3, 2011

Then I put the whole thing together

Eggplant parmesan before it goes in the oven - Jan 3, 2011

Eggplant parmesan before it goes in the oven - Jan 3, 2011

And, tada!

Eggplant parmesan after it comes out of the oven - Jan 3, 2011

Eggplant parmesan after it comes out of the oven - Jan 3, 2011

Eggplant parmesan after it comes out of the oven (closer up) - Jan 3, 2011

Eggplant parmesan after it comes out of the oven (closer up) - Jan 3, 2011

It was accompanied by some of the Trader Joe’s Harvest Hodgepodge and Ronzini Garden Delight Radiatore pasta.

My eggplant parmesan dinner - Jan 3, 2011

My eggplant parmesan dinner - Jan 3, 2011

My eggplant parmesan dinner - Jan 3, 2011

My eggplant parmesan dinner - Jan 3, 2011

My eggplant parmesan dinner (close up) - Jan 3, 2011

My eggplant parmesan dinner (close up) - Jan 3, 2011

I froze a small portion of this for a rainy day and my friend Leya came over Tuesday night for leftovers and we finished the rest. Her exact word was “Yumm!” In addition to the great company Leya always is, she also provided a shoulder I didn’t even realize just how much I really needed! I am really appreciative of my spectacular friends!

– Evan Bindelglass

This entry was posted in Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

